What’s New — Murakami Haruki

Today is the birthday of the Japanese cult author Murakami Haruki. Most of you probably know him well. Many people really love his books. So do I! To praise his work on his birthday I want to give you some more interesting links in order to explore his work, get to know facts about his life and read further reviews.

The British official website of Random House is a well-designed, lovely and very beautiful website about the author and his books. To get valuable up-to-date-information you can register there for the official Murakami mailing list — and those of you who want to spend more time around the year with him can buy a stylish calendar app.

The new Murakami book: Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage 色彩を持たない多崎つくると、彼の巡礼の年 was published in Japan in 2013 and will be available in English in August 2014. Since Friday a German version is on the market and a Dutch version will be published today.

515bUnrkxJL._SY445_

So lately there is much to read about Murakami Haruki in the press. A good article of Michael Emmerich is to be found in the Asahi Shimbun.

For all of you, who want to dive into the Murakami world please explore the Haruki Murakami Stuff: A Murakami Fan Blog site.

I enjoyed the Murakami quiz. How well do you know Murakamis books? I admit, I have to read some more of his works, to get the full 20 points.

You find my reviews on Japan Kaleidoskop as follows:
Murakami Haruki: Dance, Dance, Dance
Murakami Haruki: Kafka on the Shore
Murakami Haruki: Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman

4 thoughts on “What’s New — Murakami Haruki

  1. Great post on Murakami! I can’t wait until August to read his newest book. It’s been a while since I read some of his other works so I’ll have to do some re-reading before I take the quiz lol!

    Like

    • Thanks for your compliments. I am reading the new Murakami in German, I am on page 56, but cannot say much about it now. Do not want to spoil. As always I guess it is a good book. I will review it after finishing. It will take me a while though, because I do not have so much time to read lately. Have a nice day and maybe you tell me sometimes how you like the other Murakami books.

      Like

  2. Marion, another good reason to be following your blog! Murakami is the only author that I have read many books of. Very unusual for me I even re-read Norwegian Wood. Not sure what says of me!
    I will follow your reviews and the links posted. I have read about 12 books, having got only 2 in Japan. I will have to work out whether all his works have been published here and take a shopping list next time to Japan.
    Tony

    Like

    • Tony, thank you very much. Actually Murakami is an author I have re-read several times. I think his fiction and imagination is extraordinary, and each time I read one of his books it reflects something I am dealing within me. Therefore it is a different experience even if it is the same book, but I am different. Hm.
      Thanks for following my blog and I hope you have fun with Murakami in the future. Have an nice day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

